Call 5593 6609

New Legislation | What do I need to do? | Resources | Contact Us

  Gold Coast Pool Safety Certificates  


A Development Approval will be required when a new fence is required. Pool Safety Certificates Queensland has a unique relationship with Private Certifiers that can process this, when required, within a very short period .Giving us the advantage over any competitor. Our experience in the Pool Safety industry is well established for over 18 years.

New Queensland Pool Laws
The Queensland Government has introduced Australia's toughest new pool safety laws as a result of the most comprehensive review of Queensland's swimming pool safety laws in nearly 20 years. The new pool safety laws aim to further reduce the incidences of drowning and serious immersion injuries of young children in swimming pools.

Pool safety inspection system
From 1 December 2010, pool safety certificates are required when selling or leasing a property with a pool. Pool safety inspectors can only issue a certificate when they have placed the certificate details onto the pool safety register.

Pool owners and others, such as real estate agents and solicitors, will be able to search the register. The legislation does not set the amount that pool safety inspectors can charge. This is determined by the market and pool owners are encouraged to shop around for the best deal. Local Governments are obliged to provide a pool safety inspection service if asked and it is a matter for individual Local Governments if they charge and, if so, how much to provide the inspection service.

The main role of pool safety inspectors is to inspect pools to determine whether or not they comply with the pool safety standards. Upon inspection, the inspector must issue a pool safety certificate or nonconformity notice, depending on the outcome of the inspection. The nonconformity notice must state how the pool doesn't comply and what needs to be done to make it comply. The inspector can also, if agreed with the pool owner, carry out specified minor repairs (such a adjusting or replacing a latch or striker and removing climbable objects).

Pool safety certificates must be obtained from a licensed pool safety inspector. Certificates are valid for one year for a shared pool and two years for a non-shared pool.

Stage 1 of the new pool safety laws was introduced on 1 December 2009 and applies to new residential pools. The final stage, stage 2, commences on 1 December 2010 and mostly affects existing swimming pools.

One pool safety standard, the Queensland Development Code Mandatory Part 3.4, replaces 11 different pool safety standards.

When the new pool safety standard has to be met Pool owners have until 30 November 2015 to comply with the new pool safety standards, or earlier if their property is sold or leased before then.

If you are selling a property with a non-shared pool before the 5 year phase-in, such as pools for houses or townhouses or units with their own pool or spa:

* a pool safety certificate must be obtained before settlement of a contract; or
* a notice of no pool safety certificate - form 36 issued before contract and before settlement advising the buyer that a certificate must be obtained within 90 days of settlement.
* If you are leasing your property, a pool safety certificate must be obtained before entering into the lease.

If you are selling or entering into an accommodation agreement (e.g. lease, hotel stay etc.) for a property with a shared pool associated with short-term accommodation, such as hotels, motels, backpackers or hostels, you have a six month phase-in period to obtain a pool safety certificate.

If you are selling or entering into an accommodation agreement for units and townhouses with a shared pool or spa, there is a two year phase-in period to obtain a pool safety certificate.

Note, this information has been collected form




Copyright by Pools Safety Certificates Queensland 2013 | Website hosting by Tropixel